I Forge Iron

vertical gas forge openings HOT ??

johnptc

i am new to gas forges. i am setting up a vertical propane forge. it has a front and rear openings about 3x3 inches. they are existentially pieces of sq steel tube.

in my first run to really cook the satanite i noticed the steel tubing gets quite hot ( a little color).

is this normal ??? certainly seems reasonable given the hot gases flowing by.

should they be covered with refractory cement or ??? to protect them in the long run ????

Oh yeah, anything in contact with the fire is going to get HOT. If the openings in your refractory liner are steel tubing they will burn up in short order if your burner(s) are working properly.

I'd use refractory for sure. However, I'm not exactly sure how your openings are and may be misunderstanding your description. A picture or two would cure that immediately and I could come up with a more creative answer. ;)

Frosty

Yea,

That surround around the door is going to get HOT!

ITC makes a product ITC-213 that is designed to coat metal. I have not used it, but from what I have heard, it works pretty well. It is designed to reflect the heat off of the surface and not allow the metal to soak as much heat.

You may want to try that, but I think it is a little expensive.

My vertical gasser is pretty similar design to that.

My door openings extend into the shell by maybee 1" (its got 2"+ of lining in there so its not 'into the fire'

I used box section like you have, poss 3 or 4mm thick. After 12 months the bits stuck into the forge have started to burn away a bit, but its all still sound outside.

If im running the forge at anything near welding temp. the whole area round the door comes up to a dull red heat.

Ive never bothered with coatings etc on the shell. No matter how nice you make a forge look it allways ends up looking like a bag of nails after a few hard welding sessions :)

For future reference. The less steel you put around your forge the better off you are.