I Forge Iron

Little Giant issues

Howdy,

I'm new to this section, usually over in knife making, but you guys are the best bet for such issues.

I'm over at Marsha Trattner's forge in Red Hook, Brooklyn New York City, and she recently bought a 50lb Little Giant powerhammer. It wasn't in the best shape, but it's getting there.

Our current issue is that the clutch won't let go once engaged. The lever has always needed a solid kick to get started (I had known the previous owner and used it beforehand), but now the friction created in the clutch is too much and it doesn't disengage. It's oiled, and when I turn it off the clutch comes out, so when it starts again I have to step on the pedal.

post-25471-0-65064300-1364767193_thumb.j

post-25471-0-66294000-1364767218_thumb.j

I have two pictures of the hammer off, clutch disengaged. The inside of the flywheel has some oil, the wood pads are pretty clean looking to me. 

I have little experience with powerhammers, I used to some well maintained (and very old) powerhammers in the UK last summer, and that's it. 

Any input or suggestions would be appreciated. Apologies for my wrong terminology.

If all goes well, maybe we'll have a hammer-in :D

Well one thing I would recommend is mounting the spring on the clutch arm. Have the spring pulling the arm straight back. Having the spring mounted on the treadle and pushing up through all the linkage is a poor design. I do not know why little giants were originally set up this way. I mounted my spring on the clutch arm pulling down. I have a center clutch model. I welded a bar off the clutch arm and have a spring pulling straight down rotating the arm and pulling the clutch away. The clutch action on my hammer is much more smooth now.