I Forge Iron

Greetings from Orlando, FL

Hello everyone.

My name is John Thorpe and I reside in Orlando, FL with wife and kids. I'm just starting out now with knifemaking and am completely inexperienced.
I'm using stock removal methods until learning to forge. I am highly interested in forging especially since it is so easy to build one. I have a friend that has a large brake drum forge built into a table, and he is going to gift it to me. I appreciate that this site is available and the openness and friendliness that posters and responders have shown. I have much to learn.
If anyone is based in the Orlando, FL or central FL area, and would be willing to have a guest observer sometime, please let me know. I know of no workshops or training provided in my area.

Thanks everyone,

jt

Welcome aboard John, glad to have ya.

There's plenty of info about building forges, forging and finishing blades, metallurgy of blades and knowledgeable guys to pump for info.

One thing to be aware of though is the second largest demographic of reasons for getting into blacksmithing for blacksmithing's sake are folk who just wanted to make a tool for their "real" pursuit. Forging is addictive, once you're hooked you're in it for good.

Frosty

Hello everyone.

My name is John Thorpe and I reside in Orlando, FL with wife and kids. I'm just starting out now with knifemaking and am completely inexperienced.
I'm using stock removal methods until learning to forge. I am highly interested in forging especially since it is so easy to build one. I have a friend that has a large brake drum forge built into a table, and he is going to gift it to me. I appreciate that this site is available and the openness and friendliness that posters and responders have shown. I have much to learn.
If anyone is based in the Orlando, FL or central FL area, and would be willing to have a guest observer sometime, please let me know. I know of no workshops or training provided in my area.

Thanks everyone,

jt