I Forge Iron

asking for ideas or suggestions

kevin (the professor)

Hello Everyone,

I am posting a blade that is forged and ground. It is somewhat polished (I am not good at polishing, among other things).

Here is my situation: there are not any people that I know near me who are into forging and grinding blades. So, I am asking you guys for any suggestions or input regarding the knife at this point.

Please include things to fix and ideas for finishing. If the idea is within my limited skills, or near enough to them that I can learn to do it within the course of finishing this knife, then I will give it an honest try (this is #6 for me). Handle, guard, spacer, butt cap, etc.

Any guidance or ideas will be appreciated and a serious attempt will be made to follow (reasonable) directions given. Consider it teaching over the web.

thanks for taking time to read this.

stats:
10" blade
2.25" wide
3/16 @ ricasso; 1/8" tip
tang - 5.5" (I am going to hack about a half to a full inch off)
blade has large flat ground bevel with convex at cutting edge (very sharp but with pretty thick section supporting edge - sharpened on slack belt and mouse pad with abrasives)

1095 admiral steel
edge quenched in canola
tempered at 430F for two one-hour cycles

guard materials on hand:
aluminum or mild steel flat bar, 3/4" wide and 1/4" thick
alumin flat bar 1.25" wide and 1/8" thick
mild steel flat bar 3/4" wide and 1/8" thick

spacer and butt-cap:
coin mokume from quarters (2 sets welded up)
leather
small blocks of ebony, rosewood, mesquite, and pine
the above listed flat bars

Handle materials (all blocks):
rosewood
kingwood
mesquite
ebony
a pretty attractive but unknown hardwood burl (my favorite of bunch)

11807.attach

11808.attach

Edited by kevin (the professor)
shrinking pics