I Forge Iron

New forge need specifics

Paul B

Okay I have never forged anything. I was a machinery designer for twenty some years and have done a fair amount of machine work. I am a long way from a tool maker. I am getting ready to start to build a coal forge. I did visit one of the members from here and look at a forge he is in the process of building, this helped me with a concept. I am going to build one similar to the one hammer kid shows on this forum. Here are a few basic questions.1) How large should the bottom of the fire box be, length and width? 2) What are the dimensions of the top of the fire box, length and width? 3) What is the angle of the sides of the fire box? 4) What should the depth be of the fire box? This maybe dependent on how big a piece I am going to heat. I'm guessing that the largest thing I will heat til I know what I'm doing maybe something like 1 inch or so square by maybe 8 or 10 inches long.

Any help would be appreciated. I am planning on going to a party put on by the Blacksmith Guild of Central Maryland in a couple weeks, hopefully I will pick up some more tips there as well.

Thanks
Paul

edit: spelling

Edited by Paul B

COOL! I`ll get u my measurement sthis evning after school!!! But the outer frame is 2 Ft. x 45 inches . I used 1 1/2" x1/8 " angle iron . The firepot is 1/4" mild steel walls and 1/4 " x 1" ban around the top & 1/2" stainless steel for the bottom plate. More info to come.
Chris