I Forge Iron

Howdy from Texas!

tgsmith1

Hello, just found this forum and decided to join, I've been blacksmithing off and on for the past 7 years, I demonstrated at an Agricultural museum in Boerne, Texas for over a year, introducing the wonders of blacksmithing to visitors. I decided I wanted something different in life and decided to go back to school and have just finished my BAS in social psychology. Now that I'm finished I have some free time and want to get back into blacksmithing again. I just became a member of the Balcones Forge here in the greater San Antonio, Tx area and I'm looking forward to meeting and learning from the members of this club. I started out in this fantastic hobby by taking a swordmaking class, what was suppose to be a 6 week course turned into about a 4 month course. The instructor was sitting on a goldmine but wasn't prepared for the response and so many never finished their blades. He also didn't teach us about hardening or tempering so I have a beautiful fantasy sword I made that will never be for anything other than looking at.
I've made several knives, and I've made damascus as well. I also turn out some steak turners and bbq forks that folks seem to like.
Anyways before I get too long winded, (especially on subjects I enjoy) I'll close with another hello and looking forward to chatting with the others on this forum. Tom

Welcome, Tom. I just joined Balcones Forge on Saturday too. I'm just a beginner. (Still putting finishing touches on my forge now). With a little luck. (And clear weather) I'll be firing it up this weekend.

This is a great site with ALOT of helpful folks and great information.

Mark G