I Forge Iron

Next steps for my first axe

Hello all, a friend and I are making a pair of axes. This is my first time trying to do this, and I don’t know how to proceed. 

The eyes are too long, so I was going to try and upset them to make them more round, and then put a drift through them to make them the right size, but the cheeks are very thick. Should I try to thin out the cheeks? And should I do this with a cross pein or fuller, or just the flat hammer face?

Also, the transition from the cheeks to the blade of the axe seems too thick to me, but I wonder if thinning out the cheeks would help with that?

IMG_2787.jpeg

IMG_2786.jpeg

Will, do you have a good hatchet/axe drift. Drifting and drawing the cheeks is basically where I would go next. (I don’t start on the blade until after I’ve done at least the initial drifting.)

The punched holes don’t look too big to me, but you may have a hard time straightening the one on the right.

For the transition from the eye to the blade, just draw it down to where you want it and if the blade gets too long, just cut it back.

Just my thoughts…

Keep it fun,

David

David,

Thanks for responding! When I was writing this I was thinking about your axes and hatchets and hoping I would get your wisdom and expertise!

I am putting the cart before the horse with this project. I was (naively) hoping that I wouldn’t need a drift, or that I could get by without one.

I do have a marlin spike that I use as a drift and a smaller round drift. I was also trying to forge out an axe drift, so I will continue doing that. 

Thanks for the help!