I Forge Iron

Bronze smelting, need some advice

So i am fairly new to bronze casting. I have dabbled some, but never really made a go of it until now. 

I have gotten in to my head to make a valsgärde helmet. In order to do this i need to make a few bronze plaques. It is a very, very long story. 

I made my fist pour today and the result was not satisfactory. I would truly appreciate some more experienced casters insights to what i need in order to reach success. 

I have used an investment powder, ses silk, made the mold. I did not have th proper chance to prevent the mold. I suspect that maybe than can be a problem. I do not have access to a vacuum set up. Which otherwise would be ideal... But if you can lend some advice that would be truly appreciated.

20240113_153311.JPG

20240113_153305.JPG

First you cant smelt bronze.  You can smelt tin and you can smelt copper, then blend them to make bronze. Second make a well to hold a supply of the bronze to prevent the final item from shrinkage, third after MELTING the bronze preheat the mold to near casting temperatures, and fourth you should de gas the liquid before pouring

Have you taken a casting class yet?

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you/

I can't help with casting except to guess that it looks like your mold was too cold.  What kind of mold medium are you using?  Sand? Soapstone?  As Steve says, preheat your mold.