I Forge Iron

Newbie from s.c. here looking to start forging

artandsoul

Hi all total newbie here near sumter south carolina looking to get into the world of forging, welding, blacksmithing etc and looking to get it on very soon. I've been into wood working, painting, guitar repair, art, mr diy fix it all for many years and always wanted to get into forging and welding for years. 'Ive finally took the leap into getting into forging the past month and have been watching u tube videos forever and reading lots of content here on the site .I like to research everything to death before jumping in and there's some great content here on the site I've been diving into for a week now.

Just bought a mr volcano 2 for 85 on ebay last week figure its the same price as the singe burner so why not go dual burner and burn more money in propane lol. Also just got a century/lincoln 90 flux core welder for 50 bux brand new in box at a local auction hard to beat that price over the harbor freight flux core 125 when its 150 when on sale. 

I'm a total newbie to forging, welding, anything with hot metal but have had the itch for years. Yes i've seen all the forged in fires many times lol aka lets make a chopper out of trash usually and watched many u tube blacksmiths and knife makers for few years. I'm sure to ask tons of questions I cant readily find info on the site in search soon like today. Hopefully ill get some help here as the site seems like a good one thanks!

Welcome from the Ozark Mountains.

There are a lot of good blacksmithing videos out there and even more bad ones. The forum has a section with the good ones linked. https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/44225-a-collection-of-blacksmithing-links-on-youtube/  in case you haven't run across it yet. I especially like jlpservices our own Jennifer            https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/54803-jlp-videos/                 Also Black Bear Forge         https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdOM6Qc53TcWuExrnDLVjXg