I Forge Iron

could I forge a Langes Messer using the Ulfberht and Japanese methods

So I’m new to this, and getting info about forging is kinda difficult because I live in the middle of nowhere without any local experts to ask about this, and I cannot just google it because the sheer amount of misinformation there is that makes my head spin. So I came here hoping for a straight answer.

I want to one day, in the far future when I have the experience to do so, forge a Langes Messer that combines the Ulfberht with the Katana. Not for any romanticized reason (I’m not a weeabo or something like that) it’s purely for the sake of cosmetic purposes and for another reason I can’t really describe. 

what I want to do is take two crucible steel billets and take one and fold it to turn it from ultra-high carbon steel into something more soft to be the core. Meanwhile I want to keep the second one normal and forge it to be the edge before forge welding them together and making it into a Langes Messer. 

As for why I chose a Langes Messer, when I was a little boy, I always wanted to know what the best sword was, but as I got older I learned what we all learn, only I decided that the only sword truly worth of the title of best wasn’t a sword that was the best at everything, but was a “jack of all trades, master of none” (if I’m using that saying right). A sword that is practical for a wide range of uses. And I chose the Langes Messer as my subjective choice for the best sword, plus I thought I could also use it as a machete and/or a knife reliably. That and I kinda like how it looks.

so tell me, is my forging idea possible? Is it viable, is it practical? Tell me whatever you can. I’d really, really appreciate whatever feedback you can give me as long as it’s not just a “no” with no elaboration.