I Forge Iron

Finally got my forge going

JW513

After 2 different blacksmithing courses and many months, I got my forge lit.  A welding friend gave me some square stock, and I was making it move but it was 1x1 inch and I'm still a rookie, even though I work construction and exercise a lot, I don't want to give my self tendonitis, so I switched to smaller rebar... I surprisingly squared it up very nice, the taper was pretty good as well. I tried putting a scroll on it and wasn't happy with it, so I was trying to fix it and boom the belt gave out on my rivet forge... So now I have to fix that.  But I got a couple hours in and it felt great, I love blacksmithing and next year I plan on going to meets. I need some fire brick for the forge, and I knew the clay bricks would crack but they still worked. It was nice doing it without the pressure in class.

I have a big buffalo forge to set up in the room. I lost too much time from the forge to anvil. That is the next project, debating on putting a concrete floor in or not, I can probably get free concrete and we do concrete work so why not.

joesmith.jpg

joesmith2.jpg

Looking good... Making a new belt is no big deal. One thing I would recommend is, instead of fire brick line the cast iron pan with clay, to prevent it from cracking. You can shape a ducks nest fire pot that way. Cheap unscented kitty litter is bentonite clay and when mixed with some grog (sand) it will not crack if the water content is right (not too wet).

It is looking good, maybe move the forge and anvil closer to the door so long as the walkway is clear. Hmmm.

IDF&G has the right of it regarding claying the pan and how to make a duck's nest. Mine is clayed about 1" thick with a depression down to the air grate. I shape the fire with fire bricks around it. You're close but not quit yet. ;)

You should be able to shorten the pump handle unless it takes much strength to pump it now. Those blowers move pretty easily.