I Forge Iron

Help needed here

I am new to welding. I have successfully stuck two pieces of A36 together, and thats about it. So far, they have held up satisfactorily.
I have two questions:
I need to weld some lathe tool bit steel onto a piece of A36 mild steel. I have a Miller 295 amp stick welder. I need to know what type of welding rod I need to use, and if there is any "special" expertise required to do this job. As mentioned, I am a raw beginner when it comes to welding, so please answer accordingly.
Also, in my brief experience at welding, I have had great difficulty in striking the initial ark, and I believe that one of the new instant helmets would help me greatly, since I am not very adept at placing the end of the rod where I want it. Any recommendations as to which are best suited for stick welding. I am not interested in becoming a journeyman welder....Just trying to get things stuck together. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.:)

ED I think we can agree you need some experience and I think the best way to get that is not to start with dissimiliar metals that if they break could causse a lathe to jam and or injury. Get 10 or 20 pounds of 7014 stick rod, either 1/8" or 3/32" and weld all kinds of joints. A reference book from the library will have pics that will show youhow to evaluate your welds by appearance. That will be a start. If by the end of the pice of rods you feel good you may try the joint you need. However lathe bits is a term that may describe several alloys of steel some of which may give you fits. I have done exactly what you describe, However I have welded with stick for over 50 years. And no I did not start out how I am suggesting. But if you do it may help speed things up a bit. Enjoy

Edited by Rich Hale
Found another word that needed mispelled

Ed,
Mapquest shows you are about 150 miles north of me; I'm north of Pinckneyville, IL. on State Rt 127. Be glad to give you a few hands-on lessons if you ever want to make the trip.