I Forge Iron

Hello from Oregon

sholbert

Greetings to All,

My name is Seth Holbert. I have been lurking in the background for a while now, reading posts and researching as much as possible. I figured it was time to introduce myself. I have wanted to start blacksmithing since I was in high school. But, without anyone around me who knew anything about the craft it has been reading and wishing that has kept the dream alive. At this point I haven’t fired any metal yet and hopefully by winter I will have a spot to do so.

To give you a little more about myself. I currently work as an RF test engineer. I have worked as an engineer for the past 8 years. Previously, I owned my own cabinet shop, worked as an electrical apprentice as well as multiple different manual labor and service industry jobs. Being “engineer minded” I tend to overthink the room and plan my way into inaction. But now I finally have the space and my list of “needed” tools and equipment has grown to a point that I think I can make fire and hopefully I will be pounding iron soon.

My wife and I bought a plot of land out in NW Oregon where we raise Icelandic sheep as well as other animals. I am in the process of setting up my shop and after reading through many of the forum post regarding shop setups I have some serious reconsidering to do. Most of my work on the property requires me to have a woodshop and through reading am now realizing that combining my wood shop with my metal shop isn’t the smartest idea. I think my next move is to convince “The Boss” that I need another outbuilding to create all of the “beautiful” metal work that she already has on order. :) In regards to setting up a new shop, is a low ceiling a big issue if you are forging with coal?