I Forge Iron

Looking for ideas

Curtis87

Hello everyone, I was wondering if anyone out there has built a 2x72 grinder out of one of these (see attached picture). I love blacksmithing but since I am a carpenter by trade, fabricating machines doesn't come naturally to me, so any advice would be awesome. Buying a belt grinder isn't in the budget right now.

IMG_2702.JPG

Belt grinding sucks up quite a bit of HP to operate right.  One of the problems with these little versions or even the 1 x 42 versions that can be bought fairly cheaply is that they are very easy to bog down.  They can be used but are questionably passable---and most people outgrow them pretty quickly.  It is a judgement call though as it's always easy for me to spend YOUR money for you.

If on a really tight budget, I'd personally save for the Grizzly 2 x 72 (G1015 is the part number).  It's pretty steep (relatively) at $ 575 but not as steep as the fancier offerings.  Lots of people seem to like it and at a fairly true 1 HP, is strong enough to not be totally frustrating.

The Grizzly version of the one above (they all copycat...or just stick their own brand on the same thing) is $ 139 and rated 1/2 HP which is likely stretching the truth on HP a little.  I'd personally go with the 1 x 42 before I went with this one because the claimed (and fudged) HP is more appropriate to a 1" wide belt than a 2" wide. Having used the 1 x 42, I know that it is serviceable and can do some real work...although it is just another low end compromise as mentioned.  At the very least, the 1 x 42 can eventually become a useful wood sander when you upgrade to something better.  Another point on the 1 x 42---you CAN get top quality belts in that size just about everywhere:  The quality of the belts you buy is as important as the sander itself.  Never go with crappy belts to save a few pennies as it's NEVER worth it.