I Forge Iron

Apprenticeship/classes wanted

MScov

Hello, I know this may be a long shot, but my husband has expressed a lot of interest in blacksmithing, particularly sword smithing, and as a surprise for our anniversary, I was wondering if there is anyone out there who would be willing to have him around as an observer/apprentice and help him see if it is something he would like to really do in the future, before investing in all the tools. We can pay for this - reasonable cost - of course. It is important to be somewhere in proximity to Salina KS.  

Thanks!

Monica

Check to see if the American Bladesmith Society is offering any courses near you; americanbladesmith.com

Also for general blacksmithing  which is pretty much a prerequisite check for an ABANA affiliate within driving distance.

For swordmaking for a good  swordsmith reasonable cost should be about what you'd expect to pay a Doctor per hour.

I once assembled a complete beginner's kit for less than US$25: Forge, blower, anvil and basic tools---the fancy stuff is nice but we've been hammering out stuff ever since we left the stone age.  There is a nice Youtube video of a kukri maker using a sledgehammer head as his anvil and a hole in the ground as his forge...

The ABS has the Mid-America Bladesmithing Symposium coming up the last weekend in August near Dayton, Ohio. There will be dozens of Master Smiths attending and conducting seminars.

http://www.americanbladesmith.com/index.php?section=events&subsection=show_events_details&events_id=22

The local affiliate of ABANA is the Saltfork Craftsman group which covers Oklahoma, they have a conference in October, and local meetings monthly.

http://www.saltforkcraftsmen.org/