I Forge Iron

My new (first) HIBACHI forge.

Okay so I'm a newbie... so don't flame me too hard.  But this is my first go at making a fire pot... and I contemplated different designs... but as it will be primarily for blades and tools under 14" in total length... figured opting to go small best suit me.

This was roughly inspired by the Whitlox mini forge I saw when looking at designs... as I have limited supplies or access to things... but scrap wood is plentiful. So this will be a wood cooker.

post-49690-0-22700100-1387441505_thumb.j

We had a neglected Hibachi... and I worked out how to build it and save the case if I ever wanted it again... so it was a simple pick.

post-49690-0-54218500-1387441420_thumb.j

I experimented with making a clay liner substance... and it failed... so I changed the formula a bit... and will be using it in a non critical area... behind the firebrick against the metal case.  Fire brick and fire side seals are with the Furnace Cement.  

post-49690-0-58446800-1387441632_thumb.j

("Clay" mix was triple screened: sand/wood ash/cat litter, mixed dry at 20%-30%-50%, roughly, and kneaded together with slow addition of water)

post-49690-0-29856900-1387441616_thumb.j

The air rail extends out and has a hair drier forced air fitting.

post-49690-0-71364500-1387441744_thumb.j

The Hib. was pasted first with the clay mix, then pipe and bricks were pressed in... filling the rear gaps as best as possible with more clay mix.  Brick edges were mortared together with the furnace cement, and pipe to brick as well was pasted with the F cement.   I will let this air cure a few days and if any cracks appear, I'll fill them in with the F cement like a pottery slip paste.   Then a week out... I'll stoke a small fire to cure/glaze the F cement (as per instructions).

post-49690-0-10677000-1387441877_thumb.j

post-49690-0-31029800-1387441854_thumb.j