I Forge Iron

Tool insurance

The theft of a members tools on another site ( Socal Tool theft) has reminded me of this. It seems way too many guys find out too late that their tools and gear are NOT covered by their insurance for one reason or another. Sadly that's what they told him today about the theft.... He's not not covered because he didn't list them as "additionally insured items" on the policy from what he last posted. If you use your tools to earn money, then there's an even greater chance your insurance won't cover them as most home owners policies exclude tools used for business. It seems the more expensive and "specialized" a tool is, the less likely they are to be covered.

I know when I talked to my regular agent, that my personal tools are all on the "questionable" list as to if they are covered or not. Since I'm a general contractor and I work for myself, even tools that I might use for my "hobby" stuff might well be refused if I put in a claim, if they chose to do so. Also any "expensive" tools, usually with a value over $1000 would need to be listed individually, or they aren't covered under any circumstances. The definition of what constitutes a tool for "work" and a tool for my "hobby" is very poorly defined by the insurance company. Since I'm a big fan of buying top quality tools, even tools I have never used for "work" like my lathe or my little table top mill aren't exactly "homeowner" quality. Light industrial usually is a better description of many of my tools and gear.