I Forge Iron

Riland Plasma Cutter

Kenny O

Hello... I have a Riland cut60 with less than 2 hours of usage. It was in storage for 2 years.

Now it it does not work, the fan doesnt spin etc. any one know of a source for troubleshooting steps.

I have some electronics experience, of the 101 variety.

Thanks to all

• 9 months later...

Riland doesnt exist any longer...sadness. It was only used for about an hour total. Nothing chewed or obvious, therin lies the problem....I am searching this area for a OCD electronics guy that might find this a chalange. I will continue my search...

post-2133-0-13603600-1410363014_thumb.jp

post-2133-0-69103000-1410363031_thumb.jp

Any melting fuses in the cutter?

Next I would look for damaged capacitors, bottom right in your second picture. If the top is warped they are very likely damaged but easy to replace.

Look for any signs of a arc or heat damage, the transistors on the aluminum plate look good as far as the picture goes but they tend to burn out quickly if overheated.

A burned coil can be harder to spot because a shortcut can happen inside the windings.

Good luck 

A lot of those older imported cutters used Mofsets vs the newer IGBTs. Poor quality control often led to units that self destructed after only a few dozen hours of use. That wasn't a big deal if someone used the units and the grenades under warranty, but the occasional user who only used it once and a while didn't realize they had a ticking clock on their hands until it was too late.