I Forge Iron

No. 40 Blower Leaks Oil...

Ictalurids

... like a sieve!!!

I am a rookie. I have an old hand crank that I am trying to fix up to put to work on the forge I am trying to finish.

Fan turns freely, but rattles against the outer housing when spooling down.
I have disassembled it, following instructions from other threads here, and am not sure what direction to take from here.

Before breaking it down, I filled the gear oil resevoir about 1.5" deep. Seemed to turn smoother, but started leaking oil from fan housing.
Next morning, almost all of the oil was on the floor of my garage. Maybe the "siphoning" effect?

Not sure what to do from this point. Maybe put it back together and just spot oil gears each use with an oil can? Or is there a way to solve the problem more permanently?

Thanks in advance,

John

Welcome aboard John, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you may be happy to find out how many of the IFI gang live withing visiting distance.

Of course the oil drained out, hand crank blower aren't intended to be oil bath lubricated. Put a few drops of lightish weight motor oil, say 30 wt. Non detergent if you can find it but it's not a critical thing. Oh yeah, a few drops in the oiler cap on top at the beginning of a session. that's all she needs and NO don't use gear oil or grease or anything very heavy. They oil by tracking from one gera to another and a little bit of sling.

There should be oil holes over the bushing/bearings where the shafts meet the case, if so put a drop or two in each, if no oiler holes, don't worry about it.

Oh yeah, a little rattle or fan noise when letting it coast is normal enough, means it's worm gear driven so when you let off the force against the gears reverses and the fan shifts a bit. In time it may become necessary to adjust it but lots of guys here will tell you how.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thank You Frosty!

I am east of Dallas, Texas.

I knew I would get some good advice here!