I Forge Iron

New guy, old anvil

Hey Guys,

I joined a couple of weeks ago but didn't quite find the time to post. I'm a hobbyist bladesmith. I've been doing this for a couple of years now. I started out with an anvil made of a piece of railroad track with a hardened plate welded on top of it. it weighs something like 30 to 40 pounds or so.

Last year I decided to buy a real anvil that would be heavier and a bit more versatile. I spent some time looking on the local classifieds websites. Most anvils are either very heavy (400+ pounds and very expensive) or around 100 pounds (and sold within seconds). I finally found a 250 pound anvil that people somehow missed and made an offer of 220 euros, which got accepted immediately. The seller was even nice enough to take the ad offline (preventing higher bids) until I could pick it up. Imo, 250 pounds is the sweet spot, because it is as heavy as possible within what 2 people can move without needing a forklift.

I've been using it for a while now and it works very nice. It doesn't ring all that much, but that could be because atm it is still standing on gravel. I still have to finish the floor of my backyard smithy and I don't have a pedestal yet. The horns have no damage, and the face is still flat, with only a handful of minor blemishes. the face is roughtly the thickness of my finger. say 6/8 or something like that (I didn't measure).

On the front are letters. Just below the face there is a number '572' which could be a serial number or such.

Below that there is something the shape of an eye, with inside something I can't really make out.B3 or 83 or something else. It is really vague because at some point it was painted over. I should probably try to trace it with paper and pencil

And then underneath that is just says '120 K   No3    J'

The 120 stands for the weight in kilogram, No3 is probably the type of anvil. No idea what the J stands for.

I haven't looked for other markings hidden at the bottom or such.