I Forge Iron

How do you punch 3/8" or 1/2" hole

KeithSS

Hi,
I've been learning blacksmithing for 3 yrs. don't have a teacher but a member of 2 clubs.
I mostly learn from books. I am wanting to put a 3/8" or 1/2" hole in some 1/8". X 1-1/4" flat mild steel.
Do I need to make a punch to the size and a piece of steel below with a hole drilled the same size as the punch or a close fit to punch it through?
I have been looking at some work from a blacksmith fron 1956 his holes are perfect .does anybody want to share the secret of how it's done? Don't want to use a drill.
Keith S.

1/8 is easy to punch make a punch the size you want and make a punch plate where the punch fits with a little wiggle room (there are guidelines available if you wish to be precise) make sure your punch has a sharp edge (grind the tip if needed ) . or alternatively you can purchase a tool to do this (whitney punches or others or a ironworker) these tools work cold and are precise and fast .I have a few different whitney punches The largest of witch can punch a 1/2 in hole in 1/2 in steel.

Keith,