I Forge Iron

Asking for direction

Hi,

Newbie here as a result of a fringe need on one of my other projects. I have a metal lathe that I can not buy parts for. (Old and out of procuction). I need 3 backplates cast in gray iron  to mount my chucks to the spindle and one as a faceplate to turn between centers. I posted previously and apparantly I said something that was not acceptable and it, I guess, was pulled. I will try again and not be as descriptive. I am looking for someone local to portland oregon that is willing to work with me in a way that is fair to both of us to produce these castings. I have been to many sources and the base of knowlege and experience here seems to be the best that I have come across yet. I have been to some of the do it yourself sites and realize that castin iron is a step above the normal requirements and is something that for 3 pieces is more than I want to invest in. Thanks to all who comment and lend their experience to my endeavor.

Marc

Most chudk back plates can be fabricated very easily from a steel plate with a boss welded to it that is threaded to fit your lathe spindle. In either case access to a macine shop to machine and thread the spindle connection is required before truing the face of the back plate on your lathe prior to mounting yor chuck(s).

HI,