I Forge Iron

How to price a Heat Treatment?

Good afternoon everybody, Ive been lurking around for a week or so and finally decided to join. Ive found this forum to be very helpful and look forward to be more active, mostly with questions as I am barley starting in the heat treating industry. Let me introduce myself. I am a 28 year old mechanical engineer who is the process of setting up a heat treating facility in northern Mexico. And I have to admit I am kind of new to this industry. I come from 5 years working in the Oil and Gas industry where I did mostly wellhead design but was also in charge at some point of all engineering related to all processes that took place in the plant. That included some heat treatment, but mostly stress relieving and normalizing and the furnace was not high tech at all. I left to start this heat treating facility with a partner back in my hometown given its recent industrial boom. There is a growing demand for aluminum heat treatments, mostly small parts, not more than 20" long, and they are mostly T6 with artificial aging (10-12 hrs.