I Forge Iron

question about this scraping tool

Here's a neat 6 minute vid to watch on you tube showing some forging of katanas.

YouTube - Making of a Production Katana - Cheness

Question i have is does anyone know what the tool is that's being used at the 2:05 time mark to scrape excess steel off the blade? Or where you could get something similar or something that could be used in the same way? Looks like a simple tool to make, but what would you use for the blade? Some kind of carbide bit? Any ideas?

I'm using hand tools for what i'm working on, i have access to power tools, and can afford to buy them but I'm no pro and like the control of hand tools better. I currently use bastard files to remove scale and and excess metal that i couldnt shape cleanly enough with the hammer. (still a total beginner at this...). Anyways it looks like scraping would remove the bulk of the excess material much faster than filing. Right now i'm trying alot of different things, trying to find techniques that work for me and that i can do repeatably and that i can get good results from for each of the different phases of making knives.

So what could I use that could perform as a scraper like this? I've been googling all over the place but cant really find anything...

Thanks
Lt

Hi. Haven't watched the video yet, but I belive the tool your talking about is called a sen. The easiest way to make one is to get an old file and grind the profile you want in the edge. I have also seen them made using a mild steel flat bar as a handle that holds a lathe carbide tool.
Check DonFogg's web site , or the knife network under sen you should get about a million different discussions on it.

Just a fast note: if you are using a file to remove scale you are throwing money away. Scale dulls files quickly. I would advise soaking the part in vinegar overnight and *washing* the scale away the next morning. Spend your money on stuff besides files!