I Forge Iron

"T" Burner Build Forge - WIP

Tagg

Hello everyone! This is the first topic I have posted on IFI, so I should probably introduce myself...

I'm Zachary Bruno, 16, and I love the creativity in knifemaking. I have made a couple knives so far (One stock removal, one forged). I'm relatively new to the knifemaking world and a kind knifemaker in our area recently gave me a RR track anvil, a few pieces of HC steel to work with, and some Kaowool. I had been forging with a homemade charcoal forge and a hairdyer, but that was getting way too expensive way too quickly.

So, I changed my perspective and decided--after some advice from other experience members on another forum (Paleoplanet)--to go ahead and build a gas forge. I want to build something that will be durable, last me a long time, and be able to accommodate my increasing skill in knifemaking.

I decided the T-burner (Phil's tutorial and Frosty's concept) would be a great option.

So far I have a 5-gallon metal paint bucket for the body of the forge, enough Kaowool for one layer of the forge, and the burner parts and taps. (I'm planning on using firebrick for the interior)
6588006747_1d83415075_z.jpg

What's left?

Regulator and Hose (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VXEW4G/ and http://www.amazon.co...uct/B002LH46IC/ <-- Is this hose OK?)
Plistix
Zoeller flare
A piece of pipe and washer rings for the burner holder assembly
1/4" ball shut-off valve

So my main question right now (And feel free to give me other advice) is... could I use a 1/2" shut off valve--which I already have--and bring it back down to 1/4" on either side or do I have to go buy a 1/4" shut off valve?

A reference: http://zoellerforge....legasforge.html

Thanks guys!
Zachary

Zachary,

(1) What size are the firebricks, and how are you planning to use them? Floor only, or something more?