I Forge Iron

strap hammer questions

I have recently purchased what might be called a "strap hammer", by which I mean it is a mechanical spring hammer with leaf springs, but where the ram of, say, a Little Giant has a solid toggle linkage, this one has a flat belt/strap. It is the system commonly seen on Japanese forging hammers. The ram weight is about 20kg and it is driven by a slack belt clutch system. It was designed for the forging of "arms, cutlery and for the heavier work of a coppersmith", and was manufactured by Bouhey sometime before 1914. http://www.archive.o...ge/162/mode/1up
It isn't in bad shape, but is in need of a little TLC, and I'll be posting some questions about foundations, set up, etc. as I go along. I am a total novice when it come to this kind of thing, and I'd be grateful of any help!

My first question; can anyone (preferably with experience) suggest a good material to replace the strap with? The current one appears to be made of leather, the last perhaps 100 years have not been kind to it, and it's gone a bit saggy.

Many thanks,
Dan

post-1-0-73936400-1324309969_thumb.jpg

I don't know how the thumbnail of the schematic got attached to my post, but thank you whoever did that!
Thank you also for the replies.
Peacock; From the sound of what you say, I think that the idea of leather straps might be difficult to realize. Just out of curiosity, and perhaps for the sake of posterity, could you explain what kind of leather is the right kind of leather, and why it is your choice?
Stewart, I have two questions; First, what made you think to replace the toggle arms with canvas strapping/belt? Second, why do you suppose it is that the strap allows or causes the hammer to hit harder?
I'm afraid the hammer is still in its box, so I have no detailed pictures at the moment, but here is one of it at its old home;

post-2056-0-12245900-1324320349_thumb.jp

Sweet looking hammer!

My first choice for strap replacement would be ......... leather ... !