I Forge Iron

Looking for a new small anvil (UK)

I'm looking to treat myself to a new small anvil, something in the 15-30kg range, for use as a bench anvil. I'm a UK resident, and am already aware of the suppliers like Vaughans and Glendale forge.

Their prices are a little steep for my budget. I am wondering if anyone knows of any alternative suppliers in the UK that arent quite as eye wateringly expensive.

Second hand ideas are fair enough, it is difficult to find the smaller size I am after second hand. If anyone knows of a good second hander in these sizes suggestions are also welcome.

i got my workshop anvil from Cottams: http://www.cottamhorseshoes.com/hardened_steel_anvils.htm They were the cheapest new anvils I could find that were of a quality suitable for forgework (ie not cast iron pieces of shite sold for settign rivets on!). Depending on what you want to use the anvil for there may be other alternatives out there too

Its going to be my bench anvil, so for doing all my marking on. Also I'll use it for doing my small scale soft metal work. And it'll be useful as a jumping up block. Might do some very light forging on it. It is very important that I be able to move it around my workshop and house easily and with little effort, so 15-30kg is the weight range I want.

sounds like you would be able to use any old block of metal with the same success as a nice posh (expensive) new anvil. Just got to the scrappy and find a block of mild or even one of those cast iron jobbies from machine mart. marking work, soft metal stuff and upsetting son't really require a 'proper' anvil, infact I don't use one by preference myself. If it's a smaller one (say 5 or 10kg) then you can always bolt it to the bench, if you have a 30kg then the bench will need to really solid and will likely flex when used anyway.