I Forge Iron

How do you know when to clean out the forge?

DanBrassaw

I've got a brake drum forge, with a decent size table, and I'm quite happy with it. I've done OK in terms of heat, managed a few forge welds with the help of a friend tonight. The flat bottom doesn't drop the ashes as I'd like (not sure where my frame of reference comes from, since I've never done this before), so I've come to raking around the edge and trying to get the small stuff down my trap. Being a total neophyte, I'm just not sure what I should expect, or if there's something I could improve/do differently. How much ash should I be expecting? I worry that I'm kicking a lot of ash out and up my draft or out into my shop every time I pump my bellows. I assume that the amount of ash you can expect varies with varieties of coal, but I feel like the quarter cup or so (2" pipe cap, sometimes more) I get a night isn't representative of what I've burned. Wish I could tell you what quantities I burn a night, but I really have no idea how to estimate that, and I haven't been measuring. It's three or four hours, 12 inch by 3 inch deep firepot, with a 2-4 inch heap on top. That's the best I can do. :P And how often do you pull the coal/coke out of your forge and clean it? Every time I forge, I've been trying to get in the habit of pulling everything out when I'm done, and cleaning ash and clinkers out/down. It makes a nice spot to start my fire, but is it a waste of time to try to rake out the big stuff so I can pull the ash into the trap? I just worry that the ash will build up around the edges and reduce my heat capacity. So I guess what I'm asking is, what's your cleaning routine? I'm sure it varies wildly, but I'm really in the dark as to what to expect.

Add some clay to your drum to form a gentle slope toward the tuyere.

With the GOOD coal I get may be a couple of tablespoons of ash/clinker in 8 hours of forging.