I Forge Iron

Looking for Anvil

Guest DanielT

Guest DanielT

I am new to blacksmithing, currently taking a 10 week class, and I am interested in finding an inexpensive anvil.

I am in Cincinnati and have been looking on Craigslist and EBay but have not really had any luck, every decent anvil seems to go for over $500.
I was thinking about a railroad anvil but can't seem to find any place that sells old railroad.

Anyone know of where I could find something that is useful for an amateur starting blacksmith or where I should start looking??

Thanks for your help and I look forward to being on this forum and hopefully sharing some of my work once I do something good.

Daniel

Did you ask around at the SOFA meetings? If not the next one is *Saturday*!

They should know if there are any floating around or where to find a nice big chunk of steel to hammer on in that neck of the woods.

Next you are living in the blacksmith's happy hunting grounds---stop relying on sources where people are trying to make money sell stuff to you and go out and beat the bushes for all those anvils sitting in garages and basements! Talk to everyone you meet and explain how you are hunting for an anvil to *USE*. If they ask you to set a price on it and it's in decent using condition start at US$1 a pound.

When I lived in Columbus, OH, I averaged a good name brand anvil in great shape a year for about a dozen years at under $1 a pound by going out and finding them.

Guest DanielT

yeah I had looked into the SOFA and would love to go but unfortunately my current blacksmithing class is in Cinci on Saturday's from 12-3 and I still have 7 more weeks to go so I won't be able to make it to a meeting for a couple more times.

Thanks for the suggestions, I have been asking around but most of the people in my circles aren't the type to have an anvil laying around, but I will keep trying.