I Forge Iron

ok i am new at this

snowsmith

My advice: go to your local library and ask them to ILL books like "The Complete Modern Blacksmith", Weygers, and "The Complete Bladesmith", Hrisoulas, for you to read. If you like them then they should go on your christmas list *NOW*.

Next find a local ABANA chapter to you. There is a fairly good list of them at anvilfire on their navigate anvilfire pulldown menu look for ABANA. Go to meetings.

If you are near central NM I would be happy for you to come visit my shop for some basic training.
Thomas

Snowsmith: Listen to what Thomas is saying. There are myriad resources on the internet, and your local library will have some good books on the subject. Also, if you look hard enough, you will find some good, honest folks will to help you. Just remember, you can't learn it, without doing it! So get out there and make it happen!

Personally, I read all the books in my local library, and even had some brought in on inter-library loan. But the true learning began at a conference, and was furthered after my forge was built.

Good luck, and don't hesitate to ask questions as you go along the path of learning this fine hobby!

Give us your location, someone on here is probably close to you, and would be willing to help.

Snow,

Listen to Thomas and Keykeeper. Beyond that, here is what I did when first getting started...Go through the blueprints on this site. When you find something that looks interesting that you think you can understand the directions, try it. If you're like me you'll get lost half way through more often than not. Here's the trick though...keep at it until you figure it out. One of the first things you'll learn is there is no "one right way" to do most blacksmithing. However there are ways that work better and are easier than others. :)