I Forge Iron

Artist interested in Blacksmithing

Artist836

Hi everyone, I am an artist, and I'm interested in learning to blacksmith. The research I've done so far indicates that I should be signing up for a welding class first. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I live outside of Pittsburgh, in Ambridge, Pennsylvania, and it looks like my best bet for that is Community College.

I'm interested in producing artistic garden gates and trellis type objects to start out with, and see where it goes from there.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Ditto Frosty. You can do more by blacksmithing than welding. (and I've been welding since '73!) Your work will be more appealing to the eye.
"I'm interested in producing artistic garden gates and trellis type objects to start out with, and see where it goes from there." Pretty ambitious for starting out. May I suggest some smaller pieces, check the BPs, then 'grow' into the larger projects. All above is MOO. (my opinion only) Good luck and keep us informed how it goes with ya.

Deborah: It all depends on what you want to say, and how you want to say it with your art. Forging allows you to manipulate the steel in its plastic state. It is not the only state.

Liquid steel can be poured into molds. This is rather intense and dangerous work at the home level and is seldom exploited for art's sake. But it is the most fundamental state of steel.

Solid steel can be cut, bent (somewhat), bolted, screwed, drilled, glued (welded) and machined. That is: you buy the steel in the dimensions you need and treat it like a boards of wood are treated by carpenters to be mechanically joined. Beautiful things are routinely made this way by artists and craftsmen. In this solid state, the steel is just another raw material.