I Forge Iron

chemistry major

I am a college student and am planning on majoring in chemistry. After College I would like to develop a career in metallurgy, but I am unsure if chemistry is the way to go. I do know that physics would apply to metallurgy as well, but my question is whether a chemistry degree could land me in position to take on any type of metallurgical occupation. I expect chemistry would apply to more of the extracting the metal as opposed to forming it, but I may be mistaken. If you have any experience in the field, your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Why not major in Materials Science with a Metallurgy minor (focus)? Unless you plan to go on to Grad School in Metallurgy/Materials Science, Chemistry is probably not the place to be.

NM Tech has a nice program and you can take explosives courses too---where chemisty might come in handy

And you can come play at my forge, I have several students come over on a regular basis.

You know you can change majors while in college. I did it EE to Geology; my daughter did it Enviromental Engineering to Biology, etc.

Thomas Powers