I Forge Iron

I'm a young female blacksmith building a business at the moment. Have had a workshop built, forge made, bought anvils and excessories and its ready to go. But now i'm on the search for fuel. Whilst at college I used Coke. But now i'm out on my own I'd thought i'd have a look around, and have come across, WELSH BEAN, ANTHRACITE and COKE. the 1st two bein between

welcome to IFI Frisky! :)

forging with coal is a whole different beasty to coke as we know it in the UK and I'm afraid that I have little experience with it (also the only coal I've forged in was given to me without a name). You should be able to weld in any of those, but I suspect that working out how best to manage the coal fires will take a bit of trial and error.

You could ask your nearest smith to find out where they source their fuel from, most will be using coke. To be honest I can't think of any UK smiths who routinelty use coal? whether it's gas, coal or coke it will likely be cheaper than charcoal.

Maybe give John Bellamy (JohnB here) a call, he is the chairman(?) of the Wessex Guild of smiths and has worked with coals and cokes for longer than I'm sure the would care to remember. ;)

Hi young lady, and welcome to the site, I would suggest you keep away from the anthracite, Welsh Beans could be anything and may well work well depending on which pit it came from, Welsh Steam coal used to be excellent for 'smithing, but some varieties produce a lot of clinker, and are very different to coke as in the fire management techniques required.

Before committing to a ton load of untried fuel, I would suggest getting a sack of each and try them first, or stick with what you know.