I Forge Iron

Formica....

CBrann

Yes I know this is not even a little blacksmith related..... I want to lay new formica over old formica... I don't like the old pattern. I planned to rough up the old stuff.. or chip it off whatever seems to be better idea.... then lay down the new contact cement and new formica. I know I will have to pull my sink.. and do some cutting.. but it looks like a straight forward process.

I know I have missed something.... so I figure .. you guys and girls know a buncha stuff... maybe you have tried this.. let me know the ins and outs....

The countertop in question is in good solid shape... I see no reason to rip it out, just to replace it with the same thing... Oh yeah.. I have never laid formica before... I am an experienced carpenter.. but not a laminate guy....

Ideas, questions concerns?
Cliff

You can put new formica over old if the old stuff is still tight. You just rough it up with coarse sandpaper (about 24 to 36 grit... power sand if there is much area to cover). Then you can apply contact cement to both surfaces and adhere. If you've never done much practice a bit with some scrap first. IMO it is best to avoid router trimming as it is too easy to spoil a lot of work and material. Final trim with a large coarse file instead. I like to use about a 14" plasTcut file but whatever you have can work. You can use a finer file or sandpaper and block to smooth the bevels.

Thanks much guys..

The old stuff is still tight... I have some 30 grit floor sanding paper I was going to use to tooth it, and a wipe with acetone is worth while...

As for order of operations... is it worth while to do the small edges first or the large pieces first?

What can you cut this stuff with to rough it into shape... and make it more manageable?

I have plenty of files... from farriers rasp to swiss fillet.... and a bunch in between...and sand paper out the kazoo... that I got covered...

just trying to avoid landmines.....
cliff