I Forge Iron

Rebuilding the forge

48willys

I'm wanting to fix my little forge that I started on, and needed a little help.
First, the pan is cracked badly,it go's all the way from the center of the pan to the outside.Also about my air gate,how should it be made?I'm guessing that I have it wrong and the blower should be bolted to the pan and the grate sits on the pan.How would I fix the pan?DSC02846a.jpg"]http://DSC02846a.jpg
DSC02847a.jpg

I know I have a few things wrong,because at the time I fixed it up,I had found it in a dump, it was broken apart and all I had to go by was a reprint of a picture in a 1909 sears catalog.Also what should I make my drive belt from?

Edited by 48willys

I am not an expert by any means but that crack is a tough one. Your firepot is made from cast iron and from my experience cast iron is really tough to weld. Back in my younger days somebody once told me that you can't weld cast iron and I set out to prove them wrong. So I went to the scrap yard and got a brake drum, cracked it with a sledge hammer, tried to weld it back together. It ended up looking like a fish skeleton by the time I was done. I then researched into some other methods and tried again, still it did not work. What I have found out is that if you want to weld cast iron you have to heat the whole thing up to cherry red. This can be done in a furnace or have a bunch of guys painting it with rosebud torches. It takes a bunch of guys because it is hot work and it is nice to be able to change out when you really start sweating. Then when the whole thing is hot enough weld it quickly and control cool down rate. The whole time pray you do not get any more cracks.