I Forge Iron

viking repellent

Hello Everyone,

I have been working on this one for a couple of weeks. It is my first attempt at a pattern-welded seax. It is also the first time I have ever tried to weld together two long bars. The results were pretty good. I have a lot of room for improvement, but this was a big challenge given my level of ability.

So, I have learned that:
1) I need to have the bars meet better before I try to weld them.

2). I should learn to estimate how much stock I need to account for loss of material (I couldn't grind all of the weld flaws out because I had less material at the end than I planned.

3). I may try a larger hammer to see if that helps.

4). I need to learn more about etching and presenting to bring out best of this type of material.

Still, I am really pleased overall, it is cool. My ancestors would be proud (Northern European Germanic by way of Northern England / Southern Scottland).

Blade is 10.5" x 1.5" x .125"
1095 and 15n20 spine (about 25 layers)
1095 edge
edge-quenced in heated canola (I may not do this with simillar blades in future, it sort of obscures pattern - too much at once).
tempered 400F, two one-hour trials

Brass bolster and cap
no idea what wood, just looked better than most of what I have.
long, flat oval cross-section to handle

Through tang, peened, large and sturdy.

As usual, I appreciate comments, encouragement, advice, etc. I really pushed my skill set with this one, and many of you may see obvious areas for improvement in my future work.

Thanks for looking.

Kevin

15422.attach

15423.attach

15424.attach

We vikings are repellent, repugnant , reprehensible, rowdy, and generally repulsive. Now that I have covered or good points I have to say that you have done a beautiful job again! Nice form and flow! pretty handle material and a very well done blade.
Finnr

Finn and Mike,