I Forge Iron

help with silver mold

hey guys

im trying to make my wedding ring from silver. i've made my family shield out of crystal and have some old silver jewellery that i am going to melt down to mold for the ring.

i have some air drying clay that i was going to make the mold out of. will the clay work? i know the ring will need a good clean up if i do use the clay, thats not a problem i just dont want the mold breaking on me or worse.

any help would be appreciated as im new to this type of metalworking

thanks

14348.attach

Edited by lanchie76

Sharr Choate's "Creative Casting" is also very good. I agree that you should use the lost wax technique with investment. I'm not sure if Rich Waugh visits this site but he certainly helped me get started in the right direction with casting (except I'm doing bronze instead of silver).

Ditto to Charlotte & HW - The invested lost wax method will be the way to go. Do a search on the web for suppliers who carry the plaster investment material and basic equipment you'll need.

The books they've recommended are a good place to start and remember, even in small amounts, molten metal is dangerous. Study up on it before you start and always think: SAFETY-SAFETY-SAFETY

Jewelry is usually cast with a centrifuge to assure that the metal reaches into all parts of the mold. As you will be gravity casting (pouring straight from a crucible into the mold) your volume of metal is small and won't have a lot of force behind it so the chances of a failure are high.

As you haven't done this before, I'd suggest making several duplicate waxes. This will give you several shots at getting it right. Also think about making a simpler shape and try practice casting with that to get your process down.

Good luck - let us know how it goes!