I Forge Iron

My first cable weld

jsurgeson

Hi All

I am a knifemaker, stock removal only till now, I have just finished making my gas forge and acquired a very basic setup. This is my first attempt at any blacksmithing, yes I know I am supposed to learn how to do basic forge work before I try welding/pattern welding/damascus etc.

However as my only desire is creating blade steel and not to do blacksmithing in general I thought I would jump in at the deep end. I mostly want to create decorative bits like mokume and contrasting pattern stuff for bolsters etc.

I took a 8" piece of 1/4" inch cable and welded it into this rather small bit of usable steel. As you can see 1/2 of it did not get used. This took me about an hour and about 20 heats. Not very good or cost effective as the gas probably cost more than it is worth. :confused:

I have to still learn to consistently judge correct temp as I tend to not heat enough and end up breaking weld and having to redo.

I quickly ground it a bit with a #220 belt and etched in ferric chloride for 5 mins. Not much contrast is there? Am I likely to get any more.
I assume the correct way to finish a piece of cable up is to grind and polish to finished size, then etch in acid? What do you do after etching or is that it?

1st_cable_weld2.jpg

Ok, if you didn't, then try making the first weld by twisting the cable tighter - it works! Then, use a lot of bits of cable & forge weld them into a larger billet.

Yes, polish & etch. Make sure you counter the etchant / clean it off once you're done.

Same steels don't make great contrasts - with cable in my limited experience, it's more about the boundary layers creating a pattern.

True!

Last time I had a go at it, I just twisted every heat until it felt solid (actually, an earlier twist or 2 were trying to corkscrew, so I probably had over done it), then went at it with the hammer. Worked pretty well, but I haven't got it etched (or even ready for finishing) yet.