I Forge Iron

How to Heat Treat this Axe?

Hello,
First off, Hope everyone here had a wonderful christmas, i know i certainly did!
Anyway, i made an axe head out off a peice of old leaf spring (5160 as far as i know) and i want to know how to harden and temper it safley.
post-14980-0-03389000-1293522947_thumb.j
post-14980-0-27716900-1293523301_thumb.j

The only oil i have is used motor oil whic from past experiences, works qiuet well with knives. This axe head is a different story all together. it will mostly be a small carving/light chopping axe.
Can someone please give a detailed explanation of how i should do this? I understand the consepts of heat treating and have put some of them into practice (not axe heads though) so iam not a complete noob at it

Some help with this would be much appreciated. Thanks :)

dablacksmith and Curly George may be right. However, since you asked, I'd heat treat it just like a knife, with two exceptions: (1) you really only need to harden the first inch or two behind the cutting edge; and (2) you'll want to temper somewhat softer than a knife edge. I'd take the edge to the bronze-brown range for starters and see how that works.

Yes, At the moment the steel is WAY to soft. I went to cut up an old floor board and ended up with a large nick in the blade from a 1mm nail. if the axe had a little hardness, there would be no nick in the blade. I gave a friend of mine a phone call last night and asked him about hardening this thing. Hes a professional blacksmith. He gave me 2 ways of doing it but ile run them past you guys. The first was to simpily heat about 1cm deep on the edge to an orange heat and quench whole thing in oil or water. He said that if it is too brittle, then put back in forge and get to orange heat again and quench quickly up until the black line then put in vice and rasp it until you get a bronze colour then quench in water.

Which should i try?