I Forge Iron

Hi All,

I'm 4 yrs. in as a knifesmith. I have taken a liking to the Brut de Forge style, but I am having trouble using a vertical jig (I'll have to make a wider tool rest). I'm thinking of making a file jig.

Question... Any ideas on how I can hold the knife flat, so so I can make an even bevel? I was thinking of a notch of some sort.

Has anyone tried to make a jig for this style of knife?

Thank you ahead for any ideas or pictures.

My wife made a knife grinding jig (with a little help from me) It woks very well at the 2x72 belt grinder and when attached to the bench it works for filing as well. Might take a look at it in the thread a couple below yours.

I can't control the wind, all I can do is adjust my sail’s.
Semper Paratus

Can you get me a link?

Apparently I am not good at forums (I made this tread in wrong section).

This is what I came up with... A grove for the bolster.

On 2/17/2024 at 5:40 PM, Irondragon Forge ClayWorks said:

Might take a look at it in the thread a couple below yours.

20240217_170310.jpg

A hand filing jig like that one can certainly work, but will be a bit slow and needing some tweaking compared to a 2 x 72 belt grinder with accessories.  You will also need your stock to be fully annealed to effectively use the file without destroying it.  I'm not sure the band clamps and eyebolt you are using will provide the accuracy you want in a file guide, but it is a start. 

Regarding holding your blade flat:

1. You should have forged in a riccasso that is flat and parallel on both sides.  This is what gets clamped down to your board.  You may have to shim the tip of the knife a bit to keep the rest of it level , particularly when you switch sides.  I have used tongue depressors, available in bulk in most hobby shops, to work as a shim.
  2. If you are including a Joe Keesler style integral finger guard, you will need to notch the board to miss that.