I Forge Iron

G'day from Sydney

Kopper

Hi everyone,

I'm a 13 year old from Sydney Australia. After a long periods of begging I've finally convinced my dad to buy a propane furnace kit for me, on the condition that I would never use it alone :) So we started experimenting with my dad in the backyard.

My first melt was an aluminum folio ball that my friend gave me at school. It was a magical experience to pour the liquid metal and turn it into a solid metal ingot. I loved it!

Then I melted more aluminum scrap, then copper and I made aluminum bronze. I invested my pocket money in casting sand and I started casting. My latest project was making an aluminum bronze sword. It turned out pretty awesome!

I put my all projects in my youtube channel, if you want to have a look here is the link.

https://www.youtube.com/@Kopperssmeltery

Any advise and guidance would be greatly appreciated since I am still learning and I want to do more projects. Great to be in here.

Have a good one

Welcome aboard Kopper, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header we won't have to keep asking you, mentioning it once in one post won't stick in anybody's memory once we open another post. What kinds of experiments were you doing on your Dad? Mine had a very limited tolerance for that sort of thing. 

I checked out your web page though I admit I didn't look at any of the videos. One suggestion is your shop  name. "Smelt" is a specific term meaning to reduce ore into pure metal. Meltery is much more appropriate.

I started to ask what kind of "Personal Protective Equipment" (PPE) you are using and decided to take a look for myself instead. I watched experimenting with "metal letter stamps". You're FRIGHTENING ME! If your Dad lets you treat molten metal with this level of carelessness he should be visited by the authorities!