I Forge Iron

Beaudry #7 (200 lb.), load/moving/slab questions

Well ive been jockying power hammers around for the past 10 years or so. In this time ive always had my eye open and ear to the ground for a Beaudry. Was really looking for one in the 100-150 lb. range, but when I got a phone call offering me the below #7 (200 lb), it didnt take a long time to decide that I wanted to buy (well I knew I wanted it immediately, affording it has been a different story).

I had put several "want ads" out over the years, and this hammer is a result of one of those ads. The previous owner, who is an extremely nice guy, called me a few months ago telling me about this hammer. At the time I had just purchased most of another shop (2 hammers, 2 forged, tooling etc.), so needless to say funds were a bit tight. The owner of the Beaudry, worked with me patiently to get the hammer paid for.

This hammer originally came out of "American Bridge Co." in Pittsburgh, PA. This was there "small" hammer, was next to some massive A frame hammers. From photos and conversations (many) with the previous owner, it is in excellent condition. Bearings are free yet tight, no cracks/chips in the die block, arms/rollers are excellent (owner removed rollers to inspect, they are as new). Just a very nice hammer in every way.

Enough of the back story, just wanted to tell some of it. I do have a few questions that I will list below.

1- When moving, should I remove the anvil from the frame? I know this can be an issue on the Bradley hammers, but doesnt appear to be an issue on the Beaudry, input needed.

2- What the best location to lift the hammer? Im thinking a few lifting straps around the "C" area?

3- How deep a slab can i get by with? I currently have a section of my shop that has 18" deep concrete.

4- Base needed?? I will definitely have this hammer mounted on industrial conveyor belting. I may also put it on a wood base, not sure, looking for ideas on this.