I Forge Iron

New from Washington

JDTaylor

Hey Folks,

I was born in Alabama and moved to Battle Ground WA because of work.   I've been doing some beginning blacksmith stuff for a few years.  Mostly building a better forge, a powerhammer,  grinders,  press and such.  But now, I'm retiring and plan to do this a lot more.  I just discovered this forum, and this is my first post. 

I  thought I could pick up some tips as well as share any new ideas I might have.  Also, I''d like to share some pics of my stuff as well as get some new ideas of stuff to make.  

As I get more familiar with this forum, I hope to find a few pics of projects and ideas.  If there are newbies in my area, I'd be happy to share what I have learned so far... unfortunately blacksmithing is an art that you will never master.  I hope to continue to improve and learn this craft until I'm too old to swing a hammer.  

20220602_132326.jpg

Edited by Mod30
Resize photo

Welcome to the forum JD! There are lots of ideas in here depending on what you want to do. The thread "What did you do today" in particular has the most activity in regards to projects, I think. 

But if you want to make tongs or tools, there's a whole topic with those posts. 

Or if you think of something you want to try, just search using your favorite web search engine. Example, bottle opener. You would search:

Site:iforgeiron.com "bottle opener" 

And all the posts from this forum with "bottle opener" would show as results. 

Have fun! 

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.