I Forge Iron

Heat treat oven build help

Hay all I am trying to build a Kiln (Heat treat oven) for my knife making so that I can temper my blades but I am no electrician and I need help figuring out how much resistance I need in the coil that will be heating the oven I'm going to be running it on 220v the oven inner chamber dimensions are 31,1/2 inches deep 8,1/2 inches wide and 6,1/2 inches tall the coil slot is 11 feet long the inner diameter of the coil I made is 9.5mm I wrapped the wire around a 3/8in metal rod and the kanthal wire is

• 16 AWG, Average wire diameter: 0.0508 in. (1.29032 mm), 0.324 Ohms/ft at 68°F
  • ALLOY: Kanthal A-1 (22% Cr, 5.8% Al, Fe balance). Rated for temperatures up to 1400°C (2550°F).

I am going to be heating this oven up to 1500- 2000 degrees and I need it to hold temp as evenly as posable for as long as posable Thank you

heat treat oven 1.jpg

heat treat oven 2.jpg

I'm not really sure what you're asking of us.  You should have calculated the amount of resistance based on how much current (amps) you are willing/able to draw.  Once you know the target resistance you can calculate the length of wire needed to provide that resistance.    How did you determine how much of which diameter wire to coil before you knew how much resistance you needed for your system?  Are you going to run the elements in series or in parallel (assuming you have more than one coiled element)? Did you do any calculations for how many watts per square foot of surface area or cubic foot of volume you are trying to achieve?

Your PID controller will handle keeping the oven at a constant temperature once it's calibrated and programmed.  As long as your oven is insulated well enough to reach your target temperature, the controller will be able to adjust itself to keep a fairly narrow temperature range.