I Forge Iron

Some Knowledge Gained

I wanted to Thank everyone involved with this site for the knowledge that you freely share. As I have stated before I am fairly new to smithing. Reading the articles and blueprints on this site has provided me with the basics of safety & smithing techniques/tools to accomplish more than I ever could have on my own. I am sure I am not the only one you have helped and would like to hear from others.

Once again thank you,

JWB

P.S.
I am posting a couple of projects I have completed using the knowledge gained from this site
http://www.yourimg.com/page/0519353/3COURTINGCANDLES1.jpg
3COURTINGCANDLES1.jpg

http://www.yourimg.com/page/0519353/CANDLESCOUNCE2.jpg
CANDLESCOUNCE2.jpg

http://www.yourimg.com/page/0519353/CANDLESCOUNCE3.jpg
CANDLESCOUNCE3.jpg

Edit: use the BBcode to place the image directly into the forum.

JWBIronworks, I don't want you to take this the wrong way, and I'm sure not here to be the ironnazi. To preface my critique, you make way better leaves than I ever have, but the spatial occupation of your wall sconce could use a little bit more detail in its presence. If you put more small leaves and junctures in the space that you occupy then I personally think that it might make an even more dramatic presentation. There isn't a dang thing that I can see you did wrong, just a wee bit of disorder in the space you take. Another point that really doesn't make wheat or hay is this, if you are going to execute scrolls in immergent vine like tendrils the leaves should be a bit more broad, like a grapevine or ivy. If you want to create more forked limber junctions then the leaves might affect a more globular or spade type shape like the oak or hickory.

I want to reitterate that I'm NOT giving you any criticism of your work, you obviously have a fine hand. The composition is what I see when I look at it. From what I see in those photos, there is something spectacular looking for a place to happen. :D:D:D:D