I Forge Iron

Ceramic blanket or refractory cement, or both?

Hey fellow forgers! Total newb here and I've been doing a lot of research. Nonetheless, I'm building a small foundry, and I was wondering should I use a ceramic blanket (kaowool), refractory cement, or both? Also I was going to go for a charcoal powered foundry. I mostly plan on casting with aluminum bronze, and bronze. Is the charcoal power good enough to melt copper and aluminum? Also what's the estimated melt time of both metals in a ceramic lined foundry vs refractory? Fuel consumption, etc. Anything would be greatly appreciated. Forge on!

Have you asked this over at alloyavenue.com (used to be backyardmetalcasting,com)  a series of forums dedicated to foundry work?

Note you may want to tighten you questions up a bit; for example: estimated melt time: is that for a nanogram or for a ton? Is that for a large system burning fuel at a high rate or a small system burning small amounts slowly?

It also appears you haven't done much research: "Is the charcoal power good enough to melt copper and aluminum?"  Well charcoal was used to melt metal for thousands of years, I don't think it suddenly stopped working.  Of course historically this was real charcoal not briquettes which are engineered to burn slower at a lower heat output. (You probably know all of this already; but the way your query was worded makes one nervous as foundry work is much more dangerous than smithing.)

If you are going with a solid fuel foundry I would suggest a cast refractory or refractory brick lined system.  For a propane foundry I would suggest kaowool with a thick cast or brick liner.

For someone just starting out may I commend to your attention the Gingery Foundry like found at  http://www.mibot.com/foundry/intro.php

Lastly you do know that you don't need to melt copper to make Al bronze?  Copper will dissolve into molten aluminum quite well; we used copper wire for greater surface area.