I Forge Iron

Setting up shop in my garage

Hello all, just wanted to introduce myself...

I'm new to blacksmithing.  I do have some experience gas welding, arc welding, milling and other machining, casting iron, and a fair amount of practical and academic expertise in heat treating -- my master's thesis was on heat treating 4340 steel.

I'm in the process of setting up my first blacksmith shop.  I've purchased an anvil, a couple hammers, a few other items and I have a number of other tools that I've collected over time that I can use too.  In a few years, I'll retire from my day job and have a large, dedicated shop but for now I'm planning a small space in my garage which presents some challenges. 

I'm still looking for a forge but have some time while I'm building out a workspace.  One challenge I have is that I cannot permanently mount the anvil, forge, etc. as they all have to be rolled out of the way at the end of the day due to HOA parking rules.  I haven't started the buildout, I've been looking at every shop picture or layout that I can find and making lots of scribbles on napkins and envelopes!

Welcome aboard Randwulf, glad to have you. What do you mean by "permanently mount"? There are a number of fellows who bury one end of a log or large timber several feet in the ground for their anvil stand. That's what I think of by permanent. On the other hand both my anvils have permanent stands but they're mobile. I didn't get them quite right so I need to lash the anvil to the hand truck to move them around without worrying about them shifting and falling. They're still mobile. Same story for forges, vises, etc.

I don't care for the folding stand I made for my smaller leg vise, it's not solid enough in use but I have plans for a much better one when I get around to making it.