I Forge Iron

Gas forge questions

Shogun71

Ok, I have not even fired up the current solid fuel forge I have but trying to find fuel is very challenging locally and very costly for what I can get...

So I was doing extensive research on gas forges...  (I will preface the rest with a declaration that I am an idiot and have a brain that gets too far ahead of myself sometimes).  I am an avid RC plane/helicopter pilot but on less than perfect weather days I am left to just putter around.  I went from a coax mall copter to flying a heli with 630 mm blades in 6 months and now fly planes with up to a 103" wing span and am working on completing an A-10 jet...  I'm surprised my wife does not suggest I live in the shop by now....

So "If" I was to go with a gas forge "if" I really like smashing hot metal, I would likely buy one.  Being in Canada getting stuff shipped here or across the border is challenging...

I came across the Mighty forges that are made in B.C. and have emailed the company.  The forges have just about everything I could likely use and seem to be in a bunch of different sizes.

The one I am considering maybe in the spring is the:

http://www.mightyforge.com/TheMighty.html

or

http://www.mightyforge.com/MightyWarrior.html

I am coming to understand that I may need to get more than one forge in the long run "if" this hobby persists. 

Please indulge me and let me know if there are any good/bad issues with these forges.  For me they are the most economical to get where I live.

I haven't heard of these forges before so my opinion carries that caveat. I'm going by description and a couple pictures. That said these seem to be a pretty decent value for the money, I'd like the chamber a little taller 4.5" in fact but that's personal preference, I like the dimensions well enough I could work in that chamber easily.