I Forge Iron

Puzzling Quench Results

My younger brother requested a dagger.  I've never done that before so I opted to use some 3/4 inch coil spring for the stock.  I got some practice "uncorkscrewing" a blade  in the process, but overall I was fairly pleased with the results.  The bevels came out pretty well and I had no deep hammer marks to deal with so cleanup on the grinder was relatively minor.  After the rough grind it was time for 3 times of normalizing then quenching.  I use my propane forge with a 2.5 inch diameter piece of stainless pipe with one end hammered closed, so no direct flame impingement is possible.  Using my trusty magnet I went through my normal routine.  Heat to non-magnetic, back in the forge for 30 seconds, then into the oil (which I warmed already by heating and quenching another item).  I don't even have to take a full step between the forge and the vertical quench tank I'm using, so there's literally less than a second of time between forge and oil.  As usual I grab the file to check for hardness.  Surprisingly to me it bit in almost like mild steel.  So I heat up the blade again, but a little hotter this time and back into the oil.  The file still bites in.  One more time and still no joy.  So I grab the remaining piece of coil spring used for the blade, heat about 3 to 4 inches to non-magnetic and into the oil.  The file slides off like it was glass.   I tried quenching the blade one more time in oil and then in my frustration decided to do a water quench.  Same result.  The file still bites in.  A second water quench and the same thing again.  With this many quenches it's not surprising that the blade has developed a noticeable warp.  Since I'm not getting the blade to harden anyway I decide to straighten the blade cold.  Some of you probably already see where this is going.  With only moderate force on the blade it snaps the top 3 to 4 inches off cleanly.  I decided to make a shorter blade and ground a new tip on it, but leave it u