I Forge Iron

Yet another ugly ducking anvil...

Hey guys Im new here I figure I could introduce myself and the beat old anvil I recently brought home.

My name is Steve and Im a High School Technology teacher. (woodshop, electronics architecture, mechanics, etc...)  I've worked as a machinist for a few years and have a masters degree in metalworking (mostly jewelry)  I took a forge class abut 8 years ago and really enjoyed it and lately have been thinking of setting up a little place to heat and beat steel into tools etc. . .  

A quick Craigslist search a few days ago and 10 minutes later this old fisher was mine. (I'm pretty impulsive . hahaha) It has Fisher, 1881, and the #8 cast into it.  It's 249 lbs as it stands (minus most of the horn)  The top plate is 5.25"x17.25"

post-29514-0-33674800-1354900384_thumb.p

So yeah. . it has only half a horn and whats remaining of it has most of the steel top missing.  For now 'Im just going to mount the anvil and try making some tongs, but eventually I'd like to restore the horn..  I was thinking of welding on a steel cylinder, grinding to rough shape and then hard facing a good layer on the top.  Finish grinding.  Sound doable?  Lost cause?

Well there's the introduction.  Looking forward to getting going. 

thanks,

~Steve

Welcome Steve!  I'm a high school shop teacher as well, best job in the world.  In fact I'm going to be teaching a class on welding and blacksmithing at the school here soon, both the students and myself are excited for that!  Let me know how your experience as a shop teacher has been and any cool things you have going on at your school.  I'm always looking for great projects and experiences to give my students.